Handmade and Fabulous: The White Linen Shorts and Trousers

Summer has come early – where I am, at least. Last Sunday, temperatures soared to 34 degrees Celsius and I was literally melting into a puddle as I played mahjong with my cousins. Visions of powdery white sand, crystal blue waters, and clear skies filled my mind as I weeded out useless tiles from my pile. It made me long for Boracay, flowy dresses, and white linen.

Boracay on my mind…

Yes, white linen. For me, nothing quite captures the essence of summer as perfectly as white linen, whether it is a dress, a tunic, a pair of trousers, or the ubiquitous pair of shorts. And so one afternoon, I decided to put the remaining fabric from my simple tunic project to good use. To my delight, there was enough yardage to make a pair of wide legged trousers AND shorts.  Without further ado, I started cutting and sewing, using my existing trousers sloper,  drafted with the help of Dennic Chunman Lo’s Pattern Making. Here are my finished pairs of whities.

The White Stuff: Summer ready linen shorts in pristine white
The White Stuff: Summer ready linen shorts in pristine white. Suede carry-all in Tan by Blithe Sanchez
White Linen Trousers
The White Stuff: Summer Perfect wide-legged linen trousers in pristine white. Suede carry-all in Tan by Blithe Sanchez

Fancy making yourself one (or a few?). Do come back in a few days for the tutorial.

See you back,

signature

2 thoughts on “Handmade and Fabulous: The White Linen Shorts and Trousers

  1. Blithe, those shorts are A-MA-ZING! I love reading your blog and projects. Your tutorial on lining a dress bodice is so thorough and well written; I was instantly hooked. I’m just a beginner, but I’d love to tackle shorts as it’s very difficult for me to fit my thick legs in commercially made shorts 😛 Anyway, thanks for sharing!

    1. Hi, Monica! You’re very welcome 🙂

      Thank you for your kind words. Truth be told, like you, I still consider myself a novice at sewing. That maybe hard to believe, but each new project is a learning experience for me. I guess, as long as there are new things to learn, we never really become experts at something.

      Do drop by from time to time 🙂

What do you think?

