Handmade and Fabulous: The Basic Maxi Dress

I recently acquired a stash of jersey knit fabrics from Taytay, Rizal. Taytay is the fabric capital of Manila where bodegas (warehouses) that hold hundreds, nay, thousands of fabrics crowd each other out, where fabrics are sold by the kilo and not by yardage. Truly a seamstress’ version of heaven!

My loot included this really soft jersey in royal blue. As soon as I touched it, I knew I wanted to make something flowy and easy out of it, something I can whip out in a couple of hours. So here is a basic version of one of my favourite clothing items, the maxi dress.

maxiblue3-1
Front

maxiblue3-2
and Back

Tutorial follows soon so stay tuned!

signature

What do you think?

